Recognizing the Achievements of Women in Science,Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, and Medicine

Nearly Even Split in Male/Female Medical School Enrollees:
About 52 percent of medical school enrollees were male and 48 percent female in 2015. But the rise in the number of first-time female applicants outpaced the number for men, with a 6.2 percent increase for women compared to 3.5 percent for men.

Women Are Underrepresented as Recipients of Many Prestigious Awards

In The News

We Need More Role Models For Women In Stem Now

Nicki Palmer, the chief network officer at Verizon Wireless, credits supportive parents (including finding a role model in her mechanical engineer father) with her successful career in the telecommunications industry. "For more girls to be competitive in the technology-laden workforce of the future, they need role models and encouragement," says Palmer. "How many young girls with the interest and aptitude to be in STEM fields never get there because they don't have adequate examples or backing"»  Link to the original article